I hope this summer goes by as fast as the spring did!

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to do much adventuring, aside from daily life. This time of year is incredibly busy for cultural institutions across the country because basically every school wants to cram all their field trips into the last 2-3 months of the school year. Not only have I been rockin’ my Aquarium career, I have also been filling my days “off” with a second informal education gig.

For nearly a year (nearly 2 years ago), I worked 7 days a week, 56-60 hours per week. Obviously, there are people who work more and harder. But, looking back on it now, it was tough for me. Honestly, I don’t even know how I did it! I had more money, but no time and couldn’t go too many places. Now, I’m working 7 days a week again but only about 48 hours per week. Not so bad. And I love teaching. And I kick ass at it, if I do say so myself.

But the point is, I haven’t had much time to feel like myself. I just feel like a working machine, and when I do have time off, I only want to sleep. My soul still hungers to explore the world around me, but it also just wants to laze around in its pajamas for a while.

Patience has never been my strong suit – I want what I want right now. Delayed gratification is for suckers; I always want to make a plan and plow ahead with it. That’s why waiting for good things is so hard for me. I have some really exciting adventures ahead of me later this year. Waiting the 10 weeks for those adventures to roll around is nerve-wracking.

Doubt trickles in when I have too much time, makes me second-guess those hasty decisions I sometimes make. Trusting yourself to know what you want is hard, and going forward with big changes is scary. At the same time, a life without change is too comfortable, too safe, and not adventurous at all. I don’t think I can live a life without adventure, so I must be brave enough to live one with risks. Deep breath!

So, whatever adventures await you this month, or this summer, or this year, I wish you the courage to face them head-on, the strength to grow from them, and the optimism to enjoy them! Good luck!

From a college adventure in Oregon - at the time, it was a scary risk to take this class, but now I'm so glad I did because it is one of my fondest college memories

From a college adventure in Oregon – at the time, it was a scary risk to take this class, but now I’m so glad I did because it is one of my fondest college memories

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures, Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

