Poetry Written While Tired

I’m tired and in a funk, so here’s some poems. Again, I make no promises. Assume that they’re neither good nor terrible.

Good

A life like a long line of disappointments
Darkness like the night sky
Spread with stars glittering
Those tiny pinpoints of hope
Little reminders that all of it
Isn’t so bad, all of the time

Bad

And in the day with the sun shining
The grass is green and lush and dewy
Lilac fragrance in the air
Breathe it in, you take a step
Confident in today and then
A gentle breeze ruffles your hair
And the clouds go right over that shining sun

Nothing

At dawn, the world reborn in flames
Shines through my windowpane
Cold hardwood beneath bare feet
Silence in the still morning air
I brush my teeth

I rattle around under the surface
Stuck in my too-loose shell
The sun crawls from one horizon
Or hides behind a curtain of rain
Whatever, I don’t give a shit

And it settles on the other
Bathing the world beyond the mountains
In warmest golden hues
Promising tomorrow, another sunrise
But I just sleep on through

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

