Day 14 and ¾ in Europe: The Day I Came Home

I realize this is over a month later; apologies all around.  Between work responsibilities, picking up an on-call shift at an old place of employment, dog and cat sitting, friends, and health, this month has just flown by!

My last day in Iceland saw me waking up early and packing all my stuff up to hide in storage while I wandered Reykjavik for the last time.  The weather was especially bipolar: it would alternate between cheerfully sunny and whiteout blizzard every 5-10 minutes.  Still, I could dig it.

image

1:25 pm

image

1:30 pm. No lie (in the time difference)

I went to the university to wander around, but the weather was so unwelcoming that I just wandered around town a bit.  Eventually, fate and Google maps brought me to the Hallgrímskirkja Church.  I spent the 700 krona to go to the top.  It was utterly terrifying – the wind screamed through and rattled the tower.  Totally worth it, though.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After the church, I went to Loki’s Cafe for some skyr pie and Icelandic tea.  It was lovely.

image

Then I went back to my hostel, Reykjavik City Hostel (which was lovely, by the way, and I recommend it), and just chilled before I went back to the airport.

I waited at the airport a while, did a little shopping, ate snacks, and then it was time to go (very sad).

image

image

This was over Greenland though

However, about 5 hours in to my flight, I don’t know what happened, but it must’ve been food poisoning or a nasty stomach flu.  I won’t go into too much detail, but I filled 3 puke bags on the plane.  The vomiting didn’t stop until about 3 days after I got home.  It was so bad at the airport that a very freaked out security team was ready to call the paramedics.  But I’m fine, in the end, and glad I got sick at home instead of on my trip.

And the best part is, my cat missed me a whole whole lot.

image

Things I miss:
-[name redacted]
-The Tube
-Nausicaa
-French pastries
-the beach!!!!!!
-Belgian waffles, chocolate, and fries
-different cultures
-Icelandic geology
-the pretty Icelandic people
-hot springs
-dramatic scenery
-food
-hearing different languages all over and trying to get by with it
-not working
-having fun on a big adventure

But it was a great trip!!!!!!!  Thanks for reading!

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Europe, World Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

