Day 3 in Europe: Full Confession – I’m a Hufflepuff

Today involved one major activity – The Harry Potter Studios Tour!!!

The tree in the entrance was still set up for Christmas

The tree in the entrance was still set up for Christmas

We began our tour in the entrance, in the crowd.  There were lots of crowds.  I grabbed a quick, cheap bite (cheap because I forgot most of my pounds at the flat.  Oops!!!) then hopped in line and got started.  I cannot stress enough how crowded it was; so many people.  The staff was very nice, although way too perky.  Cocaine isn’t good if you do it too much, folks.

DSC00199

The people who birthed the Harry Potter movies

The people who birthed the Harry Potter movies

We saw lots of props, sets, and scale models.  I never knew how much work went into making this series…

DSC00233

There were so many props

There were so many props

Lots of disembodied mannequins displaying costumes or retelling scenes.

Lots of disembodied mannequins displaying costumes or retelling scenes.

Mirror of Erised.  AKA, selfie-city.  Because we all desire ourselves

Mirror of Erised. AKA, selfie-city. Because we all desire ourselves

The wands of everyone.  I liked Voldemort's wand...

The wands of everyone. I liked Voldemort’s wand…

Creepin' on a young boys' dormitory.  But it's only a set, so it's OK

Creepin’ on a young boys’ dormitory. But it’s only a set, so it’s OK

I really liked the Butterbeer, but Privet Drive, the Knight Bus, and the Shrieking Shack were pretty cool.  My favorite of all the rooms, though, was the Creature Lab – lots of cool animatronics.  The grand finale was all the artwork, including scale models with an insane amount of detail, and some gorgeous concept art.

DSC00310

The Hippogriff had a movie, and was timed to move along with the narration

sexy basilisk

sexy basilisk

DSC00306

Look at the little baby one!

Look at the little baby one!

DSC00302

The little baby Voldemort would activate when you pushed a button

Scary mermaids are the best kind

Scary mermaids are the best kind

the Shrieking Shack

the Shrieking Shack

About to hop off the Knight Bus

About to hop off the Knight Bus

DSC00346

Hogwarts Castle in the snow/the Dark Forest

Hogwarts Castle in the snow/the Dark Forest

Hogwarts castle, to scale.  Still huge, yet tiny.

Hogwarts castle, to scale. Still huge, yet tiny.

Hagrid's hut

Hagrid’s hut

Hippogriff concept art

Hippogriff concept art

Cool concept art

Cool concept art

I feel like probably these people don't get nearly enough credit for the endless effort they put into their work.

I feel like probably these people don’t get nearly enough credit for the endless effort they put into their work.

/ (If you know Harry Potter lore well, you'll get it)

/
(If you know Harry Potter lore well, you’ll get it)

After we finished the tour, we made it back to London to have a delicious Indian food dinner – curry!!!  I attempted to do laundry, which went fine until I needed to use the dryer.  Luckily, a nice man in his underpants told me that the dryer I was attempting to use is broken, so I hauled it all back to air dry.  Shrug!

Thoughts so far:
-Harry Potter was so much work to make
-Too much work
-That’s cool
-No, that’s cooler!
-Can I ask for a cup of cream instead of a full butterbeer?
-It doesn’t smell funny over here
-Mmmm curry!  Spice!
-I’m sleepy now, and cranky.
-Let’s pretend I never have to go home.
-Because it’s fun!

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Europe, World Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3 in Europe: Full Confession – I’m a Hufflepuff

  1. I loved the Studio Tour so much! It was absolutely brilliant to see how much work went into all the films, just incredible!

Leave a Reply

