SouthFest part 2: Florida

Well, now that this post is nearly 2 months old, I figure – No time like the present! to post it.

Previously: https://murasakiokapi.wordpress.com/2014/11/16/southfest-part-1-georgia/

At this point, I can’t remember everything I did, but I’ll explain the pictures anyway.

This is me, snorkeling in Crystal River.  I am not good at snorkeling, or at swimming.  But I'm A-OK!

This is me, snorkeling in Crystal River. I am not good at snorkeling, or at swimming. But I’m A-OK!

My friend took this; I was not aware he took this.  But at least I didn't fall.  This is at...some beach

My friend took this; I was not aware he took this. But at least I didn’t fall. This is at…some beach

at Hemosassa Springs Wildlife Refuge.  A baby florida panther!!!!

at Homosassa Springs Wildlife Refuge. A baby florida panther!!!!

Hemosassa Springs wildlife refuge; me, being silly

Homosassa Springs wildlife refuge; me, being silly

Birds that are really bad at following the rules

Birds that are really bad at following the rules

Some fun art on gulf-side Florida dumpsters

Some fun art on gulf-side Florida dumpsters

Florida really looks prehistoric and crazy.  I love it.

Florida really looks prehistoric and crazy. I love it.

Spanish moss

Spanish moss

A walkway at some park.

A walkway at some park.

Walking out over the gulf on a pier.  Some lady was fishing over there, and also, gulf side beaches are kind of gross.

Walking out over the gulf on a pier. Some lady was fishing over there, and also, gulf side beaches are kind of gross.

Estuary

Estuary

I made a friend!

I made a friend!

A zebra longwing.  I really love this because I used to work at an invertebrate zoo and see these guys there all the time

A zebra longwing. I really love this because I used to work at an invertebrate zoo and see these guys there all the time

my friend and I; awkwardly.  Some old guy with a nervous little dog offered to take a picture so I said alright.

my friend and I; awkwardly. Some old guy with a nervous little dog offered to take a picture so I said alright.

At the Hemosassa Springs Wildlife Refuge; a crane hoping I had food.

At the Homosassa Springs Wildlife Refuge; a crane hoping I had food.

a bird at the wildlife refuge

a bird at the wildlife refuge

The Florida Panther!  He's only about 9 months old here.

The Florida Panther! He’s only about 9 months old here.

A manatee!!  still a juvie

A manatee!! still a juvie

I absolutely adore this picture.  The little manatees loved my friend, I think.  Or his camera :)

I absolutely adore this picture. The little manatees loved my friend, I think. Or his camera 🙂

a baby manatee nursing.

a baby manatee nursing.

So that was my trip, in a nutshell!  We did some other awesome things, but I am too lazy to look up what they were 😉 thanks for reading!  On to my next adventure, soon….

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures, Nature and Conservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

