The Art of In-Between

I look at my daily, routine life as a series of small, incremental every-day adventures that pile up between bigger, more deliberate adventures.  I enjoy my daily life, but it’s really all about the special moments.  This week, I enjoyed a really great trip (which will be posted about when I get home), but now I’m stuck in the in-between.

This entails 3 levels right now.  The first is goodbye, and I’m just really, really bad at goodbyes; always have been.  Alone time is great but when you don’t have the option to just see your friends whenever you want, letting go can be hard.  It usually results in ugly-crying my way through security and up to the gate.

The second level of in-between involves not being home or on vacation.  You’re just stuck in the middle of this journey, torn between two places.  It can be a good thing, but more on that later.

The third step is having patience and grace to accept the inevitable.  Whether it’s getting stuck behind the person who reclines into your lap, ordering nasty gelato, or having your flight delayed, there are things beyond our control.  Call it luck or fate or whatever you like.

Right now, I am stuck at the Atlanta airport, waiting to fly home, but my flight is delayed because of weather.  I can’t be mad; no one can help the weather.  I can be disappointed that I didn’t wait a bit and make my friend hang out with me at the airport before going through security – but sometimes it’s better to say goodbye and then run like your life depends on it because you are skittish sorry alleycat inside.  How could I have known?

Every time I lose patience with the “in-between” part of the journey, I have to stop and remind myself that the in-between is a journey in and of itself.  If you could just apparate from one destination to the next, you would miss out on the conversations and bonding that comes from a journey with friends. Getting lost and finding your way again can be the most fun of the entire trip, or at least it makes a funny story. Even by yourself, you would lose the appreciation for how long it took to get there.

So, travelers!  As someone currently phone-sitting a stranger’s cell at the charging station while her gelato melts, not knowing when her flight will take her home, I can advise you: take heart, and take it all in.  This is a part of your journey just as surely as the action was.  Don’t take it for granted.

image

Are we having fun yet?

image

I wrote him 2 postcards, out of sheer boredom.

image

This was gross 😦

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

