A few realities.

1.) The sad reality of your best friend being an entire ocean away!  Even if you lived in different parts of the country, at least you could walk to one another if there was no other way.

image

2.) It also means adjusting your Skype schedule… And sleep schedule.  Her new time zone is the only one saved to my phone’s memory, so I can always swipe to see what time it is where she is.

image

3.) She’s usually sleeping when I check.

image

4.) But now I have an excuse to travel and a free place to stay.

image

5.) Going on your first official first date since high school and realizing you hate them, and strangers are icky and relationships are terrible.

image

6.) I’m pretty self-assured in my averageness.  I’m not gorgeous, and definitely not photogenic, but I’m alright.  Don’t compliment me.

image

7.)  I know I’m funny, creative, sometimes talented, intuitive, insightful, lackadaisical, fun, (usually) thoughtful, thoroughly flawed but awesome anyway, mostly humble, flexible, ridiculous, smart, and a bunch of other great things.  Also some bad things.  If you’re gonna compliment someone, compliment them for the things that define who they are as a human being – not what they look like.  Like them despite their faults, because the good qualities outweigh the bad.  It’s nice to feel pretty, but I’d rather be dynamic.

image

8.) And you know what?  We all deserve someone who wants us as we are while still inspiring us to be better.

image

9.). If you have a philosophy or a policy on inane bullshit, spit it out quickly.

image

10.) Crying doesn’t help, but you can’t always help it.  Make sure to only cry in the shower so that you can tell people your eyes look weird cuz you got soap in them.  Or just wash the tears away with baby shampoo.  It says “no more tears”

image

11.) Not knowing what the right things to do are does not excuse you from trying anyway.  When in doubt, ask what you can do to help.  Or call 911 (for emergencies.  If it’s not an emergency, call for takeout)

image

12.) Sometimes life will suck.  Suck it up – things will work out, one way or another.

image

*gifs/images shamelessly stolen from google image search

**disclaimer:  this list is reminiscent of buzzfeed because I’ve been filling the hole in my life with buzzfeed

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

