Oregon, Again

Yeah, so, I have great friends and some family in Oregon.  I go there a lot, hence my last two visits.  More of the same.

It was a really fun trip, happened in mid-August.  Well, fun minus the mild hypothermia.  Descriptions in the captions.  Enjoy looking at more pictures from my adventures 🙂

This is from one of my favorite places to eat, Laughing Planet.  They have plastic dinosaurs to play with!!!

This is from one of my favorite places to eat, Laughing Planet. They have plastic dinosaurs to play with!!!

A little bird on a stump at Crater Lake National Park, Oregon

A little bird on a stump at Crater Lake National Park, Oregon

You can really see how clear and turquoise the water is, even on a kinda cloudy day

You can really see how clear and turquoise the water is, even on a kinda cloudy day

I like to pose for pictures!  heh.

I like to pose for pictures! heh.

Vidae Falls, very beautiful, very difficult to climb

Vidae Falls, very beautiful, very difficult to climb

Vidae Falls up close

Vidae Falls up close

Phantom Ship, Crater Lake National Park

Phantom Ship, Crater Lake National Park

A boat goes by Phantom Ship.  I wish I had been on that boat!

A boat goes by Phantom Ship. I wish I had been on that boat!

Cinder Cones at Crater Lake National Park.  Created when the volcano erupted long ago.  Very ashy and dusty and painful to the eyes

Cinder Cones at Crater Lake National Park. Created when the volcano erupted long ago. Very ashy and dusty and painful to the eyes

A good shot of Crater Lake in general

A good shot of Crater Lake in general

My sisters at the beach.  If you look carefully in the water, you will see a crazy person swimming/holding a body board in the cold water with no wetsuit - that would be me

My sisters at the beach. If you look carefully in the water, you will see a crazy person swimming/holding a body board in the cold water with no wetsuit – that would be me

A picture of us prior to my getting mild hypothermia :) I should have rented a wetsuit, but I hate them.

A picture of us prior to my getting mild hypothermia 🙂 I should have rented a wetsuit, but I hate them.

They aren't the best sports at trying new things, but that's true of most kids.  They made a nice sand castle oasis though!

They aren’t the best sports at trying new things, but that’s true of most kids. They made a nice sand castle oasis though!

A view of the Marine Mammal Viewing area just south of Coos Bay/Charleston

A view of the Marine Mammal Viewing area just south of Coos Bay/Charleston

The temperate rainforest, just before Shore Acres

The temperate rainforest, just before Shore Acres

What kind of fairy lives here, I wonder?

What kind of fairy lives here, I wonder?

I just like this picture

I just like this picture

The Oregon coast is very photogenic and picturesque.  Hard to take a picture that isn't majestic.

The Oregon coast is very photogenic and picturesque. Hard to take a picture that isn’t majestic.

This mushroom looks like a taco!!!!!!

This mushroom looks like a taco!!!!!!

"Pride Rock" on that  uplift over there.  A very small beach.

“Pride Rock” on that uplift over there. A very small beach.

The sand on this beach was very coarse

The sand on this beach was very coarse

Some more interesting geology.  Some of the sandstone eroded faster than other bits in the same area.

Some more interesting geology. Some of the sandstone eroded faster than other bits in the same area.

Beware of giant slugs

Beware of giant slugs

Honeysuckle in Shore Acres

Honeysuckle in Shore Acres

More Shore Acres Flowers

More Shore Acres Flowers

Shore Acres had some really beautiful roses

Shore Acres had some really beautiful roses

Just north of Bandon, Oreogn

Just north of Bandon, Oreogn

Flying a cheap kite is harder than flying a good one, which is harder than it should be.

Flying a cheap kite is harder than flying a good one, which is harder than it should be.

My shadow, about to be consumed by waves.  It took us FOREVER to find a good sandy, sunny beach this trip.

My shadow, about to be consumed by waves. It took us FOREVER to find a good sandy, sunny beach this trip.

My friend the archaeologist/anthropologist built an impressive step-pyramid.  I helped by photodocumenting it.

My friend the archaeologist/anthropologist built an impressive step-pyramid. I helped by photodocumenting it.

Coquille Beach in Bandon was my favorite

Coquille Beach in Bandon was my favorite

Black Oystercatchers!  Presumably out catching oysters

Black Oystercatchers! Presumably out catching oysters

A sea star.  It was good to see them alive and not fatalities of the sea star wasting syndrome

A sea star. It was good to see them alive and not fatalities of the sea star wasting syndrome

Green anemones.  Or, as my friend the archaeologist calls them, 'loose assholes'

Green anemones. Or, as my friend the archaeologist calls them, ‘loose assholes’

a majestic piece of kelp

a majestic piece of kelp

A California Condor at the Oregon Zoo in Portland

A California Condor at the Oregon Zoo in Portland

Lily the year-old (2?) elephant calf at the Oregon Zoo in Portland, having a blast.

Lily the year-old (2?) elephant calf at the Oregon Zoo in Portland, having a blast.

Caracal at the Oregon Zoo

Caracal at the Oregon Zoo

I love flamingos.  Oregon Zoo!

I love flamingos. Oregon Zoo!

Friendly little Lorikeet saying "bye bye!"

Friendly little Lorikeet saying “bye bye!”

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures, Nature and Conservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

