The Quick-Trip Pics

Last week, I was fortunate enough to go on a brief trip to Portland to visit family, friends, my beloved West Coast/Best Coast, and attend an alumni meeting from my program at college.  It was fun, and gorgeous, and I have the photo diary to back it up!  Enjoy!

This is Boss, he is my former roommate-slash-BFF's cat, and also formerly my cat

This is Boss, he is my former roommate-slash-BFF’s cat, and also formerly my cat

I planted these strawberries three years ago and still they thrive!

I planted these strawberries three years ago and still they thrive!

Dogwood blossoms; dogwoods are my favorite, but they don't grow where I live now

Dogwood blossoms; dogwoods are my favorite, but they don’t grow where I live now

found an excellent neighborhood "library" with some kind of terrible grammar

found an excellent neighborhood “library” with some kind of terrible grammar

cats in Portland are super chill; they roam around and beg for attention/snapshots

cats in Portland are super chill; they roam around and beg for attention/snapshots

Japanese Maple leaves/flowers/seed pods/helicopters

Japanese Maple leaves/flowers/seed pods/helicopters

at Tryon Creek State Park

at Tryon Creek State Park

gotta love the urban rainforest!

gotta love the urban rainforest!

the actual Tryon Creek

the actual Tryon Creek

Vine Maples, a plant I can recognize

Vine Maples, a plant I can recognize

thought this was pretty or majestic or something

thought this was pretty or majestic or something

psychedelic slugs!  leopard slugs, man.

psychedelic slugs! leopard slugs, man.

the view from up top, of my Everest.  Going down was terrifying

the view from up top, of my Everest. Going down was terrifying

going back up wasn't so bad though

going back up wasn’t so bad though

Near Willamette Falls.  We saw sturgeon and sea lions jumping!  (not pictured because fast; unpredictable)

Near Willamette Falls. We saw sturgeon and sea lions jumping! (not pictured because fast; unpredictable)

this greedy, thieving gull wanted to eat all my breakfast, but he had to settle for the raisins my friend disregarded

this greedy, thieving gull wanted to eat all my breakfast, but he had to settle for the raisins my friend disregarded

Cannon Beach - beauty in a picture; and an incredibly gorgeous day

Cannon Beach – beauty in a picture; and an incredibly gorgeous day

Haystack Rock; of "Goonies" fame

Haystack Rock; of “Goonies” fame

barnacles!  mussels!  snails!  limpets!

barnacles! mussels! snails! limpets!

a tiny larval fish cupped in my friend's hands

a tiny larval fish cupped in my friend’s hands

a victim of the unfortunate sea star wasting disease mysteriously striking the Pacific Coast in recent years/months

a victim of the unfortunate sea star wasting disease mysteriously striking the Pacific Coast in recent years/months

More sea stars, not looking so healthy

More sea stars, not looking so healthy

I love the ocean, and will put up with anything to be one with it.  Case in point:  we went swimming, sans wet-suits, in the Pacific Ocean.  The air temperature was around 80 degrees F, but the water temperature was about 50-55 degrees F.

I love the ocean, and will put up with anything to be one with it. Case in point: we went swimming, sans wet-suits, in the Pacific Ocean. The air temperature was around 80 degrees F, but the water temperature was about 50-55 degrees F.

the water splashing on my amazing, waterproof camera

the water splashing on my amazing, waterproof camera

Once your body is accustomed to the frigid water, it is sufficiently numb enough to dunk your whole body in comfortably.  And I look cute.

Once your body is accustomed to the frigid water, it is sufficiently numb enough to dunk your whole body in comfortably. And I look cute.

I feel like a seal with a camera sometimes

I feel like a seal with a camera sometimes

I thoroughly enjoy body boarding, but as KJ may care to notice, I am quite expressionless in this picture.  Again.

I thoroughly enjoy body boarding, but as KJ may care to notice, I am quite expressionless in this picture. Again.

a picture of the park blocks on my college campus

a picture of the park blocks on my college campus

it is inner-city downtown, but my college still has a beautiful campus

it is inner-city downtown, but my college still has a beautiful campus

the Simon Benson House, historical

the Simon Benson House, historical

Benson Bubblers; the water fountains of Portland.  Excellent fresh water!

Benson Bubblers; the water fountains of Portland. Excellent fresh water!

Lincoln Hall.  It's in good condition now, but when I had classes there (before it closed for the rest of my time at that school), there were lots of ceiling leaks and also parts where the ceiling was falling in.  Classy!

Lincoln Hall. It’s in good condition now, but when I had classes there (before it closed for the rest of my time at that school), there were lots of ceiling leaks and also parts where the ceiling was falling in. Classy!

This is my default expression 90% of the time

This is my default expression 90% of the time

We were outraged to see the delights of Midterm Stress Relief that current students enjoy.  WHERE WAS OUR RELIEF, HUH?!

We were outraged to see the delights of Midterm Stress Relief that current students enjoy. WHERE WAS OUR RELIEF, HUH?!

My little sisters are freakin' adorable, and their rabbit is cute but so fat that she can hold a carrot in her chins to eat it.

My little sisters are freakin’ adorable, and their rabbit is cute but so fat that she can hold a carrot in her chins to eat it.

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
Image | This entry was posted in Little Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Quick-Trip Pics

  1. Pingback: Oregon, Again | What Adventures Await

Leave a Reply

