The Greatest Day of My Life

If you look closely at my username, it is “murasakiokapi” which is “murasaki” and “okapi” put together.  In Japanese, murasaki means purple, and an okapi is an animal.  The best animal.  Ever.  Yes, better than a t-rex or even the mighty cat.  Okapis are my favorite animals.

Okapis are also considered endangered by the IUCN Red List; this is a recent revelation because they were previously considered threatened.  Obviously, this news is seriously disheartening.  What if your favorite food was endangered?  (I hope bananas aren’t your favorite food).  Well, animals are the nutrition that sustains my passion, restores my optimism, and generally makes life worth living.

So last week, when my favorite coworker-slash-my-friend arranged a trip to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, I mostly thought it was going to be just a fun adventure.  She did mention some sort of “surprise” but because I didn’t want to get my hopes too high, I expected nothing much.

We got there, however, and she was very excited.  She marched us around by the giraffes, which you can feed, and started looking for her classmate.  We found the classmate, who met us with a small smile and a bucket of bread, lettuce, and carrots.  My friend lost it at that point; she was like a squirming little puppy who couldn’t contain her excitement.

You see, her classmate is an okapi keeper.  And my friend arranged for me to meet an okapi.  IN PERSON.  It was amazing, magical, and I’m pretty sure I almost combusted with happiness.

So, without further ado, here is the photo journey of that day (4/23/14; also my half-birthday).  Not pictured: my terrifying enthusiasm.  I kept smacking my friend.  IT WAS SO GREAT! 😀 words cannot express!  Thank you, KJ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here he is, targeting for his trainer

Here he is, targeting for his trainer

he's considering whether he wants to target or not

he’s considering whether he wants to target or not

I never knew how big and adorable their ears are.  I love that!

I never knew how big and adorable their ears are. I love that!

An up close shot of his beautiful, darling, adorable face.

An up close shot of his beautiful, darling, adorable face.

coming over for scritches

coming over for scritches

my friend petting him.  She has the pictures of me petting him :)

my friend petting him. She has the pictures of me petting him 🙂

he is running away from us, presumably because he wants to make me appreciative for this greatest moment of my life.

he is running away from us, presumably because he wants to make me appreciative for this greatest moment of my life.

from far away

from far away

he likes to eat bread

he likes to eat bread

eating hay from a feeder thing

eating hay from a feeder thing

we also saw some american alligators lounging by the pool.  literally

we also saw some american alligators lounging by the pool. literally

a ground squirrel that pooped

a ground squirrel that pooped

red river hogs.  my friend loves these cuties :D

red river hogs. my friend loves these cuties 😀

a wild turkey.  Not the good kind;t he dumb kind.

a wild turkey. Not the good kind;t he dumb kind.

a very curious giraffe

a very curious giraffe

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures, Nature and Conservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

