Adventures in March

A couple of weeks ago, one of my close friends from college was able to come visit me!  I haven’t seen her since 2011, as she has been extremely busy with law school and her book blog, so it was a great time to catch up and remind her what a real city is like.

This city:

View from public transportation

View from public transportation

 

We went to the mountains and drove up and down a pass:

A clearish sky in the mountains

A clearish sky in the mountains

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And hiked around the amphitheater:

Hoofin' it around Red Rocks

Hoofin’ it around Red Rocks

 

We got tattoos:

Henna

Henna

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Met a distinguished politician:

This failed presidential candidate from 2012 "Stands on Her Own!" literally.

This failed presidential candidate from 2012 “Stands on Her Own!” literally.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We spent a very long, snowy day at the local zoo:

a peacock in the snow

a peacock in the snow

A wee Amur Leopard cub sleeps near mom

A wee Amur Leopard cub sleeps near mom

Sleepy amur tiger

Sleepy amur tiger

Fishing cat sleeping

Fishing cat sleeping

baby Tawny Frogmouth!

baby Tawny Frogmouth!

Mom and dad were highly suspicious

Mom and dad were highly suspicious

The Tawny Frogmouth family

The Tawny Frogmouth family

a majestic kingfisher

a majestic kingfisher

This bear looks like she is waving "hi" but it's really called offering, because she really wanted her enrichment.  Also, dem claws!

This bear looks like she is waving “hi” but it’s really called offering, because she really wanted her enrichment. Also, dem claws!

The mother orangutan went outside and picked up a giant snowball, took it inside, and started to eat it.  of course, her daughter wanted some too

The mother orangutan went outside and picked up a giant snowball, took it inside, and started to eat it. of course, her daughter wanted some too

The hyena is picking the good stuff out of his own puke

The hyena is picking the good stuff out of his own puke

This highly intelligent animal is seen here, participating in the very dignified act of rolling in his own vomit

This highly intelligent animal is seen here, participating in the very dignified act of rolling in his own vomit

Snow leopard mom and daughter enjoyed the snow!

Snow leopard mom and daughter enjoyed the snow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We went to the movies to see the latest Hayao Miyazaki (it was good, but sad and different, by the way) :

Saw The Wind Rises, it had Sean Penn!!!

Saw The Wind Rises, it had Sean Penn!!!

Um, I'm not sure exactly why we took this.  Oh yeah, a friend of mine really likes that actress

Um, I’m not sure exactly why we took this. Oh yeah, a friend of mine really likes that actress

 

 

My cat was initially not a fan of the Okapi

My cat was initially not a fan of the Okapi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smelling the okapi I bought

Smelling the okapi I bought

(I bought a stuffed okapi, and showed it to my cat…he didn’t seem too impressed)

But, somehow, I think he’s okay:

I dunno, he's just adorable

I dunno, he’s just adorable

Getting ready for spring!!!

Getting ready for spring!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look how mad this little bird looks :)

Look how mad this little bird looks 🙂

I did the decorations after she left.  I hope everyone had a wonderful spring equinox and is as ready for spring as I am!!!

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in March

  1. I had soooo much fun with you!! Explain to me how all your zoo pictures turned out markedly better then mine though?! We were at the same zoo, in the same parts, but my pictures are sub-par >.< lol

    • I had a ton of fun visiting with you as well 😀 although I have no idea how/if my pictures were better than yours! Your selfies were pretty excellent, lol, and a new experience for me (when I was into selfies, they weren’t called that!). Anyway, lady, your pictures are good, too, and come see me again when you’ve got a fancy, well-paying job and we can take more

Leave a Reply

