Lost and Found

Lost and Found

There isn’t a simple way to say
Walking through the mossy forest
Damp with dew and life anew
Mud and chorus frogs and mushroom tops
And a better world dripping from the leaves
What I’m really feeling

Footsteps, rotting wood, insects scatter
Filtered light is forest green, bright and dim
Wind and water, rapids, rocks, winding
The words, so clear and strong
Sinking and sulking into decay
The ocean is just a mile away

Resound within my heart
The waves crashing on ancient rock
And the sky above so dismal and blue
The smell of salt, of fish, of foam
But fall upon beaded lips
Footfalls in deep, soft sand

Feet track blood, cut from stones
From grass as sharp as knives
Drenched with sweat and spittle
The stinging salt and soaring gulls
Dead tattered wings rotten on the beach
Tightly locked in love’s embrace

Repetitive and constant, inconsistent
White breakers smash and churn
And unable to make a sound
Bleeding feet standing still as sand
Swirls between them and out to sea
Waving goodbye as rain from the forest falls

What I want to say
There isn’t anything out there that I don’t know
Beyond the blue horizon
That is sinking green with the clouded sun
I want to know
Another shore, broken heart, bloody feet

I do not know what
There lies ahead a world
From here on out, unknown
Unexplored, unvanquished, virgin
I cannot say anything
But sand below my feet and losing ground

Walking out with the tide
Entranced with seaweed around
My ankles, the salty breeze blowing in
Knees, hips, water cold, waist, chest
Anymore, I am lost in thought
Arms, shoulders, neck

Breathing, dreaming, drifting dead wood
Watching the sky condense
And all alone
My footsteps steady in the forest fall
One before the other, always
Shaking gentle leaves of spring

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

