The Art of Saying Goodbye

The Art of Saying Goodbye

That golden morning, the world seemed
Poised and perfect, picturesque
As dew on grass from sunlight gleamed
Beneath a sky both warm and cold
Waves on beaches washed ashore
Stranded serpents, strangled silence
And tiny stars fading fast
Twinkled in the pastel dawn

And I, in early stupor, stumbled
Scrambled and succumbed to mediocrity
Breathing in the fresh spring air
Crisp and sharp like summer leaves
Like fast wounds, fresh wounds, painlessly
And slipping silver on my tongue
With no words to wrap around
Except huffing lungs and baby’s breath

Had I known, would I have
Said something slightly sweeter
Or simply stayed at home?
Would I have watched the sunrise
Stagnate forever, content, with you?
What words could I say on that day?
I wish I would have met you sooner
Because even forever isn’t long enough

The earth spun still, swift and smooth
And watching in the distance
Clouds rolling, toiling, churning, springing
Rain and snow and hail and sunshine
Shoes never wet but caked in mud
Squeaking on sidewalks mossy and cracked
Following old footsteps home just in time
To watch reruns and seldom speak

Daydreaming drifting, watching both ways
Swimming through sunlight and the seas
Smelling the flowers on the breeze
Thoughts of butterflies, bees, dogwood trees
Flying and soaring without wondering
Then, in the last few breaths, the last few minutes
Remembering cozy cool sheets
The last few moments, the last few things

Pondering, pandering, no pleading
No tears, no roses, no black closets bleeding
Between the love, the doubt, and runny eyes
Beneath the greenest grass and harsh contrast
Believing in enough, enough, enough
Sunset, sunrise, again and again
The last few seconds, the last few words
Fall empty spittle frozen
On stiff blue lips

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

