Merry Christmas!!!

Happy Christmas and Merry Holidays, everyone!  I hope you are having a fantastic time with your friends and/or family.  If you cannot be with your family this holiday season, my condolences.  I’ve been there.  Today, I am at my mom’s house but she is at work and I’m working from home after working at my part-time job.  But just because it’s not a magical day doesn’t mean the world isn’t a magical place!

Because This happened:

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

I’m just pretending that was directed specifically to me, and giggling at my cat.

 

But in all seriousness, the holidays are a commercial reminder to appreciate all that’s great in your life.  Do you have a warm roof over your head, internet access, plenty to eat, running water, access to education, peace, safety, etc.?  Then, in spite of all the presents under your tree (or whatever), your are already so blessed.  I think next year, I’m going to encourage everyone who wants to give me a present to instead donate to some of my favorite charities.  

In case anyone’s interested:

http://www.charitywater.org/ ; http://www.unicef.org/ ; http://www.wildaid.org/ ; http://www.globalgiving.org/ ; http://www.pdx.edu/giving/

http://www.okapiconservation.org/ ; http://www.oceanconservancy.org/ ; http://www.empowermentplan.org/

Giving someone else half a fighting chance is a great way to spend money on someone without contributing to their hoarders’ nest.  Not that I’m ungrateful for any gifts or money given to me!  It’s not like I have a ton of cash lying around, either, but I have pretty much everything I need.

And speaking of ungrateful, for my birthday this year, my father sent me a fruit basket and I about had a heart attack.  In retrospect, it was a nice fruit basket, with lots of pears and chocolate and some cheese.  But at the time, it felt like a slap in the face because that’s the sort of thing he always sent to his sisters, with whom he is not close.  So I felt like I was being treated like a distant relative that he didn’t know well, instead of the daughter he’s known for her whole life.  It upset me, a lot, and I cried.  After I calmed down, I was able to thank him honestly for it, but all I wanted was a personalized card and a little something fun.

Fast forward a few months, and I got a box from them full of Christmas presents.  This time, it included a pair of handmade wool socks and mittens (made by my stepmother), a handmade card from my sisters (so cute!), a toy for my cats, a vegetarian cookbook, a couple movies, a calendar, and some chocolate.  Nothing really fancy, but things that were bought/made specifically with me in mind.  And I really appreciated it.  I cried a little this time, too, but of happiness.  It’s nice to be treated like an actual daughter.  So now all I have to be bummed about is the fact that I couldn’t be there to see my little sisters open their presents!  Maybe next year.

 

Image

Such good little artists!

 

Image

The colorful items are taped on so that they stick up!

Image

My grandmother unknowingly sent me a matching hat to the things my stepmother knitted!

Image

My cat really enjoyed the wrapping paper

Image

I drew this at work and am ridiculously proud of it!

Image

;3 I am best! yes!

Image

what’s wrong with this picture….? My friend had to point it out (he only knew because he did it)

Image

My college BFF drew this on my Christmas card. Boss is our (now her) cat! And yes, she gave me Tom Hiddleston for Christmas!!!!

Merry Christmas everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

