Three Minutes

From the sunken forest I emerge, lingering on leaves larger than myself.  First in shadow, then in light, I hover.  Just waiting for something to happen.  And it does.  Thundering vibrations send me shaking, darting back among the leaves.  Danger is all around and I can feel its trembling.

But something else consumes me.  Something stronger, more primal, something like an old, forgotten memory.  Deep inside me, it compels me forward -despite the danger, something tells me it will be fine.  So I sweep forward, into the open, into the light, right up to the edge of the world.  Diffident but secure, excited even.

I rush to the surface, breathe a little gulp of air, dart back down and twist back and forth.  The feeling in my gut tells me that something is coming, something good.  The vibrations are familiar and strange, like an old dream from another life.  Pressed right up against the edge of the world, I am waiting.  So excited now, I am desperate and active.  I cannot contain myself.  Something is happening.

Further vibrations, gentle and deliberate, a rustling sound, a rising shadow.  And suddenly, it happens!  Tiny ripples on the surface as tiny grains tumble down.  Greedily, I gulp each of them.  My own ripples shudder the leaves beside me.  For a moment, I am calm.

Then, in confusion, I dance around.  More!  There must be more!  Frantically, I dart around the entire world, right up along the edge, hunting in three dimensions, even between the leaves, and among the gravel on the bottom.  Nothing.

I am still.  There is nothing more.  The frenzy festering inside me fades, and I am content.  There are no more vibrations, no more movement around me.  The world is at peace.  I settle myself and slink back between the giant leaves of the sunken forest.  The world is bright and I am shaded.  I float, impeccably still, waiting for something to happen.

Donna the Fish

The story of a little fish (my desk-pet at work)

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Writing Misadventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

