Spontaneity and the Mountain Adventure

Recently, I have been feeling a little pessimistic about work, relationships, and life in general.  Nothing critical, but also not fun to deal with.  Last week, after running some errands, I had a wild hair to just drive and go somewhere new.  Ultimately, it wasn’t really a new place I ended up -a small mountain town I’ve visited a handful of times over my life.

But I parked, looked around the visitor center, grabbed a map, and then hoofed it around town.  I went into each little shop that was open, chit-chatted with some local business owners, purchased some souvenirs for out-of-state family, and just took my time with it.  It was nice to be in the mountains, but I needed a closer connection with nature.  I bought a sandwich (and some awful coconut water -bleh!), hopped back in the car, and drove up the nearby mountain.

I had a picnic lunch surrounded by quaking aspens rustling with the gentle breezes, fresh mountain air, and biting ants.  Really, that last one was my fault; I sat on a rock and put my foot in their nest.  I drove all around the mountain, up to the lake, and walked around a little.  I refrained from actually hiking because I was wearing slacks, flats, and a dressy sweater…Not really mountaineering attire.  I found a secluded ridge and sat on the edge, just watching the mountain, contemplating all the hard things about life.  After a while, the malaise dissipated and life didn’t seem so bad.  Then evening approached and I needed to leave, so I did -feeling much, much better than I have in a long time.

Enjoy the pictures!

Image

The aspens changing color matched nicely with the pines

Image

More golden trees

Image

The sun getting lower

Image

A panoramic view

Image

The lake was very full! And sparkly

Image

Sunbeams on the ridge

Image

Little plants living life on the edge

Image

This little chipmunk kept coming over to make friends, but every time I looked at him, breathed, or moved, he darted away.

Image

A lovely huge waterfall by a mill.  Only “One Way” to live, you know!

About MurasakiOkapi

Work has taken over a huge portion of my life in recent years, but I am trying hard to get back in the habit of being at least marginally creative on a semi-regular basis. Other than that, I'm a nature enthusiast and love all animals. I try to see things from many perspectives, and live on the sustainable side. I wouldn't say I'm a positive person, but at the same time I don't tend to get too down about things.
This entry was posted in Little Adventures, Nature and Conservation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

